THE Enmore Park Club Championship was played on Sunday in testing weather conditions.

In the 36-hole competition, best nett and President’s Trophy winner was Matt Rich.

The club champion and winner of the Faulk Bowl was the in-form Taylor Stote (70 and 71), ahead of second-placed Matt Kippen (71 and 72) and Craig Lazenby (72 and 72) in third.

Hannah Woodley is the Ladies Club Champion again.

Enmore Park Seniors had a somewhat unusual week, with two away fixtures at arguably two of the most difficult courses in their programme. 

Firstly on the links Saunton course, where a good long drive is essential on many of the holes, and although the weather was kind, a strong wind prevailed throughout. 

Predictably the Saunton team were victors by 5½ matches to 2½, but Enmore’s captain David Pascoe played beautifully, aided by partner Keith Norcutt in taking a 2 & 1 victory, with Chris Willsteed and Ray Hancock winning by the same score.

Kelvin Tutill and Tony Pomeroy secured the half point. 

The second outing was at the tricky Henbury course, which is situated in the Bristol suburbs. 

The first two groups experienced a cloudburst as they started, while the other six groups looked wistfully at the blue sky that followed.

Only two Enmore groups managed a win – Mike Sullivan and David Taylor registered a fantastic 6 & 4 victory, while Tim Smith and Ray Lukeski won 1 up – thus ensuring a deserved 6-2 win for the home team.

Avalon seniors champions Enmore lost their 20-month unbeaten record away at Tall Pines in a close match, losing 4-1. Their only winning pair were Rob Fear and Paul Martin. 

They still have a good lead in the league, and look certain to progress through to the semi-finals.

ENMORE Ladies’ prestigious Biddiscombe Trophy took place in drizzly conditions, with 36 holes to be played on the day. 

Newly-married Hannah Woodley (formerly Hannah Grant) won with a gross score of 155, while Judy Hancock was runner-up with 174. 

The nett winner, with 157 on countback, was Joy MaConnachie. 

The Brown Trophy, played on the same day over 18 holes, was won by Karen Flanagan with a nett 74.

Full results of the week’s tournaments are as follows:

King Flag Cup - Division 1 (nett)
1. Paul Howlett - 66
2. Chris Marsh - 68
3. Bradley Malone - 69

Division 2
1. George Salter - 69
2. Patrick Vearncombe - 70 (OCB)
3. Anthony Stroud-Lewis - 70

Division 3
1. Stephen Hayes - 66
2. Curtis Ricketts - 68
3. Bernard Ochman - 71

Club Night
1. M. Collard, P. Martin, T. Woodley - 80 (4balls)
2. C. Burge, M. Rossiter, C. Lazenby - 78 (3 balls)
3. N. Johnson, D. Peaster, B. Riddle - 75 (2 balls)