THE 80th season of the Baker Cup will see two heavyweight semi-finals take place, as the three Taunton-based sides who play their league cricket in WEPL Premier 2 (Bristol and Somerset) are in the last four, writes David Derrick.

Following their win over WEPL Somerset Division side North Perrott, Taunton A will take on Taunton St Andrew's A on tomorrow (June 19) at Taunton Deane CC, after Saints beat another WEPL Somerset Division side, Wembdon, in the quarter finals.

Taunton Deane A and cup holders North Petherton will meet on Wednesday (June 21) at Taunton St Andrews CC in the other match, having seen off WEPL Premier 1 side Bridgwater and WEPL Premier 2 (Bristol and Somerset side) team Ilminster, respectively.

The 2017 Cup Final is at Taunton CC on Monday, July 3.

In the Terry Mockridge Shield semi-finals, there is an all-WEPL Somerset Division meeting, as Wellington will play Staplegrove on tomorrow, in a repeat of their 2014 match-up.

Taunton B will play at Wellington CC on Monday, June 26 against either Ashbrittle or Middlezoy - who play their Shield quarter-final this Wednesday; both play in the Premier Division of the Somerset League.

The Shield Final for 2017 is at Staplegrove CC on Monday, July 17.

Finally, also tomorrow, Taunton Deane B and Watchet, both from the Somerset League, meet in the final of the Davies-Bishop Trophy at Staplegrove CC, for the prize that is named in honour of two recent competition presidents.