NORTH Petherton Cricket Club have been recognised with an award at the recent Somerset Cricket Collective awards.

The awards ceremony aims to recognise the volunteers that work behind the scenes at cricket clubs in Somerset and the programs run by the clubs.

North Petherton CC was awarded the Connecting Communities Award for their work in welcoming displaced persons to the club.

A spokesperson from the club said: "We are very proud to have received the Somerset Cricket Foundation “Connecting Communities” award this evening at the annual Cricket Collective awards.

"This recognises the work we have done with supporting the Somerset Muqbal team and welcoming displaced persons into our club."

The Maqbul Project has been organised by the Somerset Cricket Foundation with funding from Somerset Activity and Sports Partnership (SASP) through Sport England’s Together Fund.

Taking its name from the Afghan Persian word for ‘beautiful’ and ‘accepted’, Maqbul has a simple aim – to use cricket to impact positively on the lives of asylum seekers and refugees in Somerset.

Training and matches have been taking place at North Petherton and Weston-super-Mare Cricket Clubs, supported by groups including Charis Refugees, SASP and Voluntary Action North Somerset.

A spokesperson from the Somerset Cricket Foundation said: "Tonight we celebrate the volunteers that work tirelessly to support their clubs, programmes and communities.

"From inspiring young children, to encouraging participation from all walks of life, our coaches, umpires, scorers, committee and club members will be celebrated at the Coopers Associates County Ground in Taunton tonight."

Other awards were given to clubs across Somerset on the night. Locally to Bridgwater though, Shapwick & Polden CC were awarded the Tackling Climate Change award.

And the Safe Hands Award went to Amanda Counsell from the Huntspill and District YCL & Somerset Cricket League.

The other awards went to:

  • Growing the Game – Charlie Hartley-Hodge, Backwell Flax Bourton CC
  • Rising Star Award – Alice Allen, Ilton CC
  • Game Changer – Scarlett Hare – Mendip Gators – Super 1 Hub
  • Inspired to Play – Gareth Griffiths, Old Bristolians Westbury CC
  • Volunteer Grounds Management Team of the Year – Mark Fitzgibbon, Backwell Flax Bourton CC
  • Cricket Innovators – Ollie Phillips, Long Sutton CC
  • Unsung Hero – Katie Bourton, Hinton Charterhouse CC
  • Young Coach of the Year – Ollie Morris, Winscombe CC
  • Coach of the Year - Daniel Pritchard, Chard CC
  • Outstanding Contribution, Services to Coaching – Lorraine Warren, Wombatt CC / Taunton CC
  • Outstanding Contribution, Services to Coach Development – Rachel Richards, Wells CC