Buildbase FA Vase

Fourth round

Bridgwater Town 0, Tavistock AFC 1

BRIDGWATER Town saw their FA Vase campaign ended by fellow Western League side Tavistock, with Jordan Annear scoring the only goal of the game in the second half to send his side through.

With the league campaign having been voided due to Covid-19, this was both teams' first competitive match since December 2020, and it was moved to Friday night in order to avoid a clash with the funeral of the Duke of Edinburgh on Saturday afternoon.

Playing behind closed doors at Fairfax Park, it was the visitors who made the brighter start, winning half a dozen corners inside the first 10 minutes and Josh Grant drawing a sprawling save from Bridgwater goalkeeper Jake Viney.

The Robins did start to get a foothold in the game before half-time, however, with Sam Crumb feeling like he could have been awarded a penalty for a foul in the box, and Jack Taylor flashing a cross-shot across the face of goal.

It remained 0-0 at the break, and the home side began the second half by creating chances - but both Mark Armstrong and Sam Towler put their efforts wide of the goal, before Mike Duffy's shot from the edge of the box was straight at Tavistock keeper Tom Watson.

The breakthrough came on 66 minutes, and it went to the visitors, as a long shot from distance could only be parried out by Viney, and Annear was there to pounce.

Tavistock then had the chance to wrap things up 12 minutes before the end, as Viney conceded a penalty and was booked.

The keeper then redeemed himself, saving the spot-kick, to keep his team's hopes alive.

A minute later, Viney's opposite number distinguished himself with a fine reflex save, after a long throw from Tom Ellis had been flicked goalwards.

The Robins continued throwing everything forward, but even with four minutes of stoppage time they could not force an equaliser, with Tom Fry blasting high and wide, and then substitute Josh Williams seeing an effort blocked.

And so it was Tavistock who progressed to the fifth round, and a meeting with United Services Portsmouth or Christchurch for a place in the quarter-finals.

Bridgwater Town: Jake Viney, Dave Thorne (Josh Williams 80), Jake Llewellyn, George Painter, Tom Ellis, Mark Armstrong (c), Tom Fry, Sam Towler (Adnan Hiroli 74), Mike Duffy, Sam Crumb, Jack Taylor. Subs not used: Reece Bannister, Tyne Govier, Jordan Greenwood, Ryan Brereton, Conor Bryant.

All that remains for Bridgwater this season is the Les Phillips Cup competition held over from 2019/20, which sees the Robins in the semi-finals alongside Bradford Town, Hallen and Tavistock/Warminster Town.