Les Phillips Cup
Second round
Wells City 1, Bridgwater Town 3

BRIDGWATER Town fought back from being a goal down at half-time on Tuesday night, to beat Wells City and move into the quarter-finals of the Les Phillips Cup.

The early exchanges were generally even, and Ross McErlain found the side-netting from a 25-yard free-kick, but gradually the spirited home side - who play one division below Bridgwater - began to get on top.

They went ahead on 14 minutes, when a long goal-kick was flicked on for the speedy Harvey Hadrill to drill his shot past Robins goalkeeper Jake Viney.

Viney was called into action, making a double save following Harry Foster's firm drive, while Team BTC Under-18s keeper Harley Wilkinson denied Steve Murray.

The visitors went into half-time trailing, and frustrated, but whatever was said at the interval clearly had an impact.

Dave O'Hare was introduced off the bench, and it was he who was felled in the penalty area, allowing Jake Llewellyn to thrash the ball home from the spot in the 58th minute.

The Robins looked a completely different side, and three minutes after the equaliser, Murray won the ball on the edge of the area and lashed it home to put the visitors ahead.

Bridgwater survived a serious scare when Craig Herrod stormed clear but, with only Viney to beat, he slammed the ball against the right-hand post.

The visitors saw out the remaining time well, and they killed it off in the 89th minute, as substitute Finley Wilkinson slid the ball down the left-hand channel for O'Hare to cap a superb performance with a goal.

Bridgwater Town: Jake Viney, Ollie Morris, Jake Llewellyn (Finley Wilkinson 76), Mark Armstrong, Ross McErlain, Tom Ellis, Nathan Byrne (Dave O’Hare 51), Sam Towler, Steve Murray, Jack Taylor, Jake Brown (Sean Thomson 84).

This coming Saturday sees Bridgwater return to league action, with a trip to Odd Down (3pm).