WEMBDON Cricket Club held its senior dinner and awards evening at The Green last week.

A wonderful evening was had celebrating the 2019 cricket season, as guest speaker Geoff Miller (former professional for Derbyshire, Essex and England, and former ECB selector) joined 100 members for the event.

The catering was provided by Greenway Farm, Wembdon, and after dinner Miller had everyone in fits of laughter with his stories of cricket, from a humble start in Chesterfield to become England’s chairman of selectors.

Players from the four senior men’s sides, and Wembdon’s women’s team, were recognised for their achievements over what has been an excellent season for the club.

The club would like to thank everyone for supporting the evening, for scoring, umpiring, making the teas during the season, all those who come and support the club throughout the summer – friends, family and the general public alike.

The award winners are pictured above, as follows:

Back row (left to right) - Paul Rooke (3rd XI batter and players’ player), Callum Sturgess (junior clubman), Hugh Hellings (young player of the year), Nicki Bingham (Chairman’s Award), Claire Matthews (Ladies Cup), Joe Syvret (Sunday XI bowler and 4th XI players’ player), Gary Howes (3rd XI bowler), Dan Bingham (Chairman’s Award), Jon Brockwell (fielder of the year), Paul Cook (4th XI bowler), Tim Hellings (4th XI batter), Steve Pigden (2nd XI batter and players’ player), Geoff Miller (guest speaker); front row - Elizabeth Purchase (ladies bowler and batter), Daniel James-Stone (2nd XI bowler), Ed Howes (match-winning performance, hat-trick ball, President’s Award), Max Sellick (1st XI players’ player), Aaron Rees (Sunday XI batter), Jeanette Sturgess (ladies players’ player). Absent - Sam Puddy (1st XI batter), Nkululeko Molale Wa-Serame (1st XI bowler).