SOMERSET have named their 14-man for this week's County Championship title decider against Essex in Taunton.

As reported by your County Gazette on Friday, Jack Leach is included having returned from England duty while there is no sentimental recall for Marcus Trescothick in the final match before his retirement.

Leach's inclusion is the only change to the squad which travelled to Hampshire last week for a defeat which means the hosts go into this match in second place, 12 points behind the leaders.

Victory for Somerset will, barring some unlikely bonus point scenarios, secure a first ever County Championship title for the club, though the weather forecast suggests a full four days of play is highly unlikely.

Essex lifted the Vitality Blast trophy on Saturday after a thrilling finals day, meaning one of these two teams will seal a domestic double this week - Somerset having won the Royal London One-Day Cup in May.

The visitors, looking for a second Championship title in three years, have named a 15-man squad ahead of this week's match which includes England's all-time leading Test run scorer Alastair Cook.

Somerset head coach Jason Kerr said: "A look at the table tells you these have been the best two teams in the division this season and both teams will be desperate for things to go their way this week.

"I will stress to our players they must enjoy it and embrace the occasion.

"I have no doubt we will have huge support and, personally, I'm really excited."

There will be a presentation at lunch on the first day to mark the contribution that Marcus Trescothick has made to Somerset CCC and to the game as a whole.

Somerset squad: Tom Abell, Tom Banton, George Bartlett, Dom Bess, Josh Davey, Steve Davies, Lewis Gregory, Tim Groenewald, James Hildreth, Jack Leach, Craig Overton, Jamie Overton, Roelof van der Merwe and Murali Vijay

Essex squad: Ryan ten Doeschate (27) (Captain), Ben Allison (65), Aaron Beard (14), Ravi Bopara (25), Nick Browne (10), Varun Chopra (6), Alastair Cook (26), Sam Cook (16), Simon Harmer (11), Dan Lawrence (28), Aron Nijjar (24), Rishi Patel (12), Jamie Porter (44), Tom Westley (21), Adam Wheater (31) (Wicket-keeper)

You can follow live coverage throughout the title decider at