PLAYING conditions for the ECB's controversial new domestic tournament have been finalised after the counties voted 17-1 in favour.

Now officially known as 'The Hundred', the competition will feature the following rules:

  • 100 balls per innings
  • A change of ends after ten balls
  • Bowlers deliver either five or ten consecutive balls
  • Each bowler can deliver a maximum of 20 balls per game
  • Each bowling side gets a strategic timeout of up to two and a half minutes
  • A 25-ball powerplay start for each team
  • Two fielders are allowed outside of the initial 30-yard circle during the powerplay

A two-thirds majority was needed among the counties for the tournament to proceed and that was comfortably reached, with only one county voting against.

Somerset confirmed at their recent AGM they were set to vote in favour of the competition as "working with the ECB is the best way to drive growth in cricket."

ECB chief executive officer Tom Harrison said: “This is a significant step, with overwhelming support for The Hundred.

“Over the last three years we have worked closely with the whole game to create an important opportunity for the whole game.

“This new competition has already helped to secure vital new partnerships and substantial broadcast revenues and it will help us to meet the ambitions of our game-wide strategy for 2020-24 – Inspiring Generations.

"The Hundred will help cricket to reach more people.

“We remain totally committed to the existing, popular forms of cricket and will be committing significant funds and focus to all levels of the game, protecting and nurturing the core whilst reaching out to a wider audience.”

The eight city-based venues were set last year as London (Lord's and The Kia Oval), Manchester, Leeds, Birmingham, Nottingham, Cardiff and Southampton.

Reports in The Times this week have suggested The Kia Oval could yet be removed as a host due to Surrey's opposition to the new tournament, with no contracts yet signed by the proposed host venues.