BRIDGWATER Cricket Club have snapped up former Somerset wicketkeeper James Regan for the 2019 campaign.

Regan joins from Bridgwater's WEPL Premier 1 rivals Taunton St Andrew's, who he captained in 2018.

The 24-year-old told the Mercury: "Bridgwater are a club I have admired for a long time, in terms of how they go about things on and off the field.

"They play hard but fair, they are really well supported and have great infrastructure and background support.

"I have always enjoyed playing there and I think this will help get my cricket back to where I want it to be.

"Bridgwater also play in the National Knockout Cup, which I have never played in before. The prospect of travelling around the country taking on the best teams from different areas is something to really look forward to.

"I haven't looked forward to a new season as much as the next one for a long time."

Regan went on to pay tribute to the Saints, with whom he has spent six years.

"I have loved my time at St Andrew's and made lifelong friends along the way," he said.

"They were my first club down here and I'll always be grateful for everything they have done for me.

"It is hard to pick out individual moments as I have enjoyed it so much, but winning the National Area T20 competition at Bath was very special.

"This has been a difficult season, both for me and for the team, and I think this [moving on] is the best way for me to find my best form."


AROUND 120 guests attended the Bridgwater Cricket Club 2018 Gala presentation and awards evening, held at Enmore Park Golf Club.

After a welcome from president Paul Windsor and chairman Andy Wood, and a scrumptious three-course meal, Wood and cricket manager Scott Sealey reviewed another successful season for the club's men's, ladies and junior sides.

The Ladies section, now widely regarded as one of the most promising sides in the South West, has the exciting prospect of playing in the South West Senior League in 2019 against well-established ladies sides such as Bath and Newport.

The ladies had shown great skill and spirit in their successful campaign, winning 11 of their 12 fixtures and being crowned National Plate champions in June.

Bridgwater Pointers, led by youth coordinator Matt Duckering, continues to provide the ideal link between the youth and senior sections.

The 3rd XI secured a top-half finish in Division 2 of the Somerset League, several of their young players supporting Bridgwater's Under-19 county win, the club picking up the County Cup for the second successive year.

It was also a good season for the 2nd XI, who finished third in the closely-fought WEPL Somerset Division, doing the double over local rivals North Petherton and Wembdon.

As for the 1st XI, they finished in mid-table in the very strong WEPL Premier 1 competition, thanks to a particularly strong finish to the campaign.

The 'Champagne Moment' of 2018 came from Chris Skidmore, for his match-winning 72 not out (from just 28 balls) against Goatacre.

Andrew Higgins, who was recognised for his 'Outstanding Services to Cricket' by the Somerset Cricket Board, won Bridgwater's Clubman of the Year award, while star volunteer Lucy Webb picked up the Ladies Plate for the second time.

Bridgwater CC wish to thank their sponsors for the 2018 season – PAW Engineering Ltd, TMB Patterns Ltd, Charles Dickens, Mark Cummins and Dean Motors.

The club is looking forward to 2019 with great optimism, boosted by the aforementioned signing of Regan; he will replace overseas batsman Ian Dev Singh Chauhan in the order.

Bridgwater's AGM is scheduled for Friday, November 23 (from 7pm), at the Parks.

Award winners:

Ladies Player of the Year and batting award: Jennifer Poole

Ladies bowling award: Tilly Bond

Ladies fielding award: Ana Richards

Pointers batting award: Joey Redman

Pointers bowling award: Mike Luckes

Pointers fielding award: Eliott Coombs

3rd XI batting award: Timothy Netto

3rd XI bowling award: Seth Locke

2nd XI batting award and fielding award: Jonathan Vickery

2nd XI bowling award: Ian Higgins

1st XI batting award: Ian Dev Singh Chauhan

1st XI bowling award: Andrew Roberts

1st XI Most Valuable Player: Chris Skidmore

Young Player of the Year: Will Smeed

Henry Ladner Award for Most Improved Player's Contribution: Daniel Andison

Ladies Plate: Lucy Webb

Clubman of the Year: Andrew Higgins