BRIDGWATER Under-19s Red Sox have retained their crown after winning the Somerset Vitality Under-19s T20 competition for the second year in succession.

The finals day format was a 10-over one which saw them come up against Claverham and two-time champions Taunton Deane in the round-robin stage at Weston-super-Mare CC.

In the first game, Bridgwater were put into bat by Claverham. 

Two early wickets fell but Tom Bellinger (29) and Ned Leonard (27) built a solid platform which allowed James Salt (19*) and Harrison Buller (21*) to finish the innings in style as Bridgwater reached 116-6. 

In reply, Claverham lost an early wicket but were ruthless on the attack and dominated the powerplay.

The Bridgwater bowlers kept it tight in the middle overs thanks to James Duckering (3-12) and Seth Locke (2-12) and ran out winners by 30 runs.

Bridgwater were again put into bat against Taunton Deane and Will Smeed was quickly out of the blocks as he retired on 30 from 16 balls. 

Will Moyse (25) and Henry Smeed (15) chipped in with useful knocks as Bridgy ended on 89-5. 

In response, Bridgwater managed to dismiss the dangerous Deane top order as Bellinger took three wickets in the first over, plus another in the third to provide figures of 4-7 from two overs. 

An excellent all-round display saw the Deane restricted to 60-7, with two wickets for Henry Smeed and one for Seth Locke thanks to a one-handed catch from keeper James Salt - as well as three stumpings and another catch.

Bridgwater fielded first in the semi-final and another superb bowling and fielding display restricted Ilminster to 39 from 10 overs. 

Henry Smeed picked up 4-10 and Harrison Buller claimed 2-5 from his two. 

The Red Sox chased it down in just 3.2 overs thanks to Liam Gilbert’s 24 not out from 13 balls. 

The nine-wicket victory set up a final against a strong Taunton St Andrew’s side.

Bridgwater opted to field but the Saints raced to 34 at the end of the powerplay. 

Bridgwater’s spinners bowled well through the middle overs to peg Saints back to an under par 78-2.

Bridgwater, like Saints, made full use of the powerplay in response where Tom Bellinger struck 30 from 11 balls.

Despite a flurry of wickets, Will Moyse guided the team home with 23 not out as Bridgwater were crowned champions for the second year running.

Special thanks to Chris Cowley for scoring and all of the supporters who came to watch.