Somerset Cup
Bridgwater and Albion 61, Midsomer Norton 17

BRIDGWATER and Albion are through to the semi-finals of the Webb Ellis Somerset Cup after beating their Western Counties (North) opponents Midsomer Norton, who fought bravely throughout the game.

The home side took the lead after five minutes when Aaron Kelly scored a try that Kieran Devitt converted.

Norton wasted no time in drawing level when two minutes later Swift went over for a try that Rideout converted.

Bridgwater regained the lead when, following a good run, Joe Clark touched down for a try that Devitt added the conversion points to.

Once again Norton bounced back with a try from their number eight that was unconverted to make the score 14-12.

Just before the half hour mark, Mike Saunders extended the hosts' lead with a converted try, and Bridgwater went further ahead five minutes later when Clarke scored his second try, which made the score 26-12 at the break.

Bridgwater came out strongly after half time and, within two minutes of the re-start, Ethan Trebble-Westlake scored a try that Devitt converted.

Evergreen Dan Kemmish, making a welcome return to the first team, then went over for a rare try that Devitt added the extras to, and the winger then scored a try himself which he then converted.

A sustained period of pressure soon resulted in Bridgwater being awarded a penalty try, however Midsomer Norton were far from a beaten side and scored a try of their own through the scrum half on 65 minutes.

With five minutes of the game remaining, Oscar Tregenna scored the hosts' eighth try which Devitt converted to make the final score 61-17.

Home winger Devitt had a storming game and was responsible for 19 of the Bridgwater points - a try and seven conversions.

This weekend, Albion return to league action at Newent.

Bridgwater and Albion - Mike Saunders, Matt Ranson (Capt), Craig Blyde,Dan Kemmish, Arron Kelly, Ethan Trebble-Westlake, George Sluman, Joe Bussell, Tom Fournier d’Able, Jay Owens, Joe Clarke, Luke Plummer, Nik Bradley, Kyran Devitt and Will Monro.

Replacements (all used) - Brett Shaw,Ryan Barnett Lewis Plece Oscar Tregenna and Dan Lang.