PROPOSALS have been unveiled that could see the people of Staplegrove represented by a different MP than Taunton after the next General Election.

The Boundary Commission for England is looking at levelling up the number of electors in each constituency by redrawing and renaming some seats.

There will be plenty of public consultation before any final decision is taken, but any changes agreed on could be in place ahead of the next election.

Under the proposals just published, the current Taunton Deane seat would be broken up.

A new Taunton constituency would cover the county town, Wellington, Trull, West Monkton and Cheddon Fitzpaine.

Staplegrove, Norton Fitzwarren, Bishops Lydeard, Oake, Milverton and Wiveliscombe would be transferred to a new Tiverton and Minehead constituency.

Bridgwater would be disconnected from West Somerset and would cover Bridgwater, Burnham-on-Sea, Berrow, Highbridge, Huntspill, North Petherton, Puriton, Woolavington, King's Isle and Quantocks.

There would also be changes to the Yeovil, Wells and Somerton and Frome constituencies.

Somerset's existing five constituencies have between from around 82,000 to 88,000 voters.

The Boundary Commission is looking at redrawing the map so that each seat would have between 69,724 and 77,062 registered voters each.