SOMERSET MPs backed their Conservative Prime Minister in last night's crunch Brexit votes.

Boris Johnson enjoyed success in the first vote - passing the second reading of the Withdrawal Agreement Bill (WAB) by 329 votes to 299.

However, the process was thrown into chaos once more when the Government lost the second vote - on the timetable to ensure the passing of the Bill in three days - by 308 votes to 322.

Our MPs unanimously voted in line with the Conservative whip, backing both the WAB and the timetable.

But the Government's loss of the programme controlling the Bill's passage has thrown everything up in the air once more, after the Prime Minister vowed to pull the Bill, should the EU endorse the UK's letter requesting an extension to the withdrawal deadline, sent by Boris Johnson at the weekend.

The PM is waiting on the decision of the 27 EU nations in response to the request he sent on Saturday, for an extension until January 31, 2020.

That would mean he fails in his pledge to take Britain out of the EU by October 31, 'come what may', and could see us heading to the polls.

How Somerset MPs voted:

  • Rebecca Pow (Taunton Deane): FOR WAB, FOR timetable
  • Ian Liddell-Grainger (Bridgwater and West Somerset): FOR WAB, FOR timetable
  • Marcus Fysh (Yeovil): FOR WAB, FOR timetable
  • James Heappey (Wells): FOR WAB, FOR timetable
  • David Warburton (Somerton and Frome): FOR WAB, FOR timetable
  • Jacob Rees-Mogg (North East Somerset): FOR WAB, FOR timetable
  • John Penrose (Weston super Mare): FOR WAB, FOR timetable 

Bridgwater Mercury:

HANDING OVER: Prime Minister Boris Johnson during the debate on Tuesday. PICTURE: UK Parliament/Jessica Taylor/PA Wire